LinkedIn Vimeo
  • Events of Interest


NU’s Brian Ardinger among 2014 Silicon Prairie Award winners

Last night, the winners were announced in the annual Silicon Prairie Awards. The ceremony took place at the Midland Theatre in Kansas City where Midwest entrepreneurs gathered to hear and celebrate the award winners.

After the list of hundreds of nominees was narrowed to 56 finalist and thousands of votes were tallied, 11 winners were announced at the event last night.

Brian Ardinger, NU’s entrepreneur-in-residence at NUtech Ventures, was named as one of the three Silicon Prairie Champion award winners. Ardinger is also the managing director for NMotion, a startup accelerator that helps entrepreneurs grow their business during a 12-week program that works to build partnerships and offers access to local mentors.

Linseed Capital, which was founded by NU Interim President James Linder and his wife Karen, and Nebraska Angels were among the finalists for Investor of the Year.

Here’s is a complete list of the 2014 Silicon Prairie Award winners:

Startup of the Year — MindMixer

Fellow finalists: Bulu Box, Higher Learning Technologies, opendorse and Travefy

New Startup of the Year — Pear Deck

Fellow finalists: Briefcase, Knoda, Nobl and Pushlee

Best Creation — ShotTracker

Fellow finalists: Bawte, Blumoo, Ocuvera and Social Media Monitor by Social Assurance

Executive of the Year — Toby Rush, EyeVerify

Fellow finalists: David Chait, Travefy; Nick Bowden, MindMixer; Paul Jarrett, Bulu Box; and Wade Arnold, Banno

Technologist of the Year — Caitlin Bales, Bulu Box

Fellow finalists: Adam England, Knoda; Chris Davis, Travefy; Timothy Braun, opendorse; and Zach Hilbert, CouponCloud

Designer of the Year — Katie Hottovy, Nobl

Fellow finalists: Ben Sinclair, Offspring; Jared Krause, Think Big Partners; Kelly Tomlinson, CremaLab; and Mark Palmer, Far Reach

Student Entrepreneur of the Year — Ryan Martinez

Fellow finalists: Blake Rupe, Brent Comstock, Coral and Spectator

Investor of the Year — Built by Iowa

Fellow finalists: Dundee Venture Capital, Linseed Capital, Nebraska Angels and OpenAir Equity Partners

Service Provider of the Year — University of Iowa’s John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center

Fellow finalists: Advent IP, Bart Dillashaw, Chris Brown and Sculpt

Silicon Prairie Champion — Brian Ardinger, David Tominsky & Kevin McGinnis

Fellow finalists: Geoff Wood, Jennifer Wadella and Sumeet Jain

Best Culture — Bulu Box

Fellow finalists: Dewsly, MindMixer, Pack and SquareOffs

List of finalists courtesy of Silicon Prairie News.