LinkedIn Vimeo
  • Events of Interest


Pipeline announces Innovator of the Year and new fellows

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — The Pipeline entrepreneurial fellowship program announced its annual entrepreneurial awards last night, including the Innovator of the Year award, at its sold-out annual Innovator of the Year event at The Midland in Kansas City.

More than 600 from Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska and elsewhere gathered to celebrate regional entrepreneurship and recognize entrepreneurial growth and contributions.

Paul Jarrett, of Bulu Box in Lincoln, was named 2013 Innovator of the Year. He was selected following a competition that included a refined business plan, a pitch to a panel of national business experts and a score carried over from performance during the fellowship year.

The daylong event included pitches by the 2013 fellows, a discussion panel of national business leaders and networking opportunities. In addition to naming the Innovator of the Year and welcoming the 2014 class, the evening awards ceremony featured:

 • The awarding of the Entrepreneurial Leadership Award to Sprint and Jim and Karen Linder

• Announcement of the Pipeline Member Growth Award to Carlos Antequera, Netchemia, Kansas City.

• Announcement of the Pipeline Member Inspiration Award to Davyeon Ross, ShotTracker, Kansas City.

• Recognition of the 2013 Class of Pipeline Innovators: Dave Alburty, Drexel, Mo. (InnovaPrep); Ben Blecha, Benkelman, Neb. (Ace Ortho Solutions); Leandro Castro, Omaha, Neb. (Multimech R&D); Alexandros Cavgalar, Wichita, Kan. (UlteriusTechnologies); Abigail Cohen, St. Louis, Mo. (Sparo Labs); Keith Entzeroth, Kansas City, Mo. (instin); Paul Jarrett, Lincoln, Neb. (Bulu Box); Matt Medlock, Omaha, Neb. (PaySAFE); Scott Pribyl, Kansas City, Kan. (SamplifyRx); Rob Rhodes, Lincoln, Neb. (InjuReplay); Joshua Sestak, Lawrence, Kan. (Orion BioScience); Dennis Steinman, Lecompton, Kan. (Iron Mountain Products); and Patrick Stoddart, Washington, D.C. (Phone2Action).

“I feel so fortunate to have joined the Pipeline family this year,” Jarrett said. “And I also want my fellow 2013 class to know that I am honored to be among this group. Our class has become particularly close this year — and we have helped each other grow along the way. We can’t wait to keep this up, help the new class and become lifelong members of Pipeline.”

The judges for Innovator of the Year were Rahul Sood, general manager of Microsoft Ventures; Amos Winbush III, founder and CEO of CyberSynchs; and, Danny Janiak of Mercury Fund.

“It was such an honor to come to Kansas City and be a part of Innovator of the Year,” Sood said. “Paul really deserved the win, and is an example of the type of person we look for when scouting the world for really great entrepreneurs.”

“The Pipeline Family is so special and celebrating all of its components – from our new fellows to members to their families to our extended family network – has made for a terrific day and night,” said Joni Cobb, Pipeline president and CEO. “We use the words heartfelt, genuine,tight-knit, funny and seasoned to describe our organization and all of those attributes were on display, on and off stage.”

The 2014 class is comprised of 13 entrepreneurs from six cities in the three states:

Mike Bosch, Dawn Fiber, Baldwin City; Brett Byman, Nobl, Lincoln; Jason Carman, Flyover Innovations, Kansas City; Tony Caudill, Aware3, Kansas City; David Chait, Travefy, Lincoln; Chris Cheatham, ClaimKit, Kansas City; Tom Cohen, Nanopore Diagnostics, St. Louis; Amos Danielli, MagBiosense, St. Louis; Carlos Fernandez, Page-Out, Wichita; Alicia Herald, myEDmatch, Kansas City; James Havers-Strong, Aviation Business International, Wichita; Shaz Khan, BuyNow Worldwide, Omaha; and, Luis Lopez, CardioSys, Omaha.

Press release courtesy of Pipeline, contact Nora Freyman,